Virtual Learning Lab Project Leaders

Carole R. Beal Philip Poekert
Principal Investigator Project Director
crbeal@coe.ufl.edu poekert@coe.ufl.edu

UF College of Education and The Lastinger Center

The University of Florida’s College of Education and Lastinger Center consistently work together to reach a common goal–improving the quality of education.

Founded by two College of Education Alum, The Lastinger Center harnesses the university’s intellectual resources to design, build, field-test and scale models that advance teaching, learning and healthy child development.

Walter Leite Corinne Huggins-Manley
Researcher Researcher
Walter.Leite@coe.ufl.edu amanley@coe.ufl.edu

UF Informatics Institute

Established in 2014, the UF Informatics Institute focuses on the development and nurturing of integrative informatics research and education studies at the University of Florida. One of its core areas is to leverage the explosion of data in the social sciences to better understand people, culture, political development, education, and human behavior.

George Michailidis
gmichail@ufl.edu

University of Colorado

The University of Colorado team is focused on understanding students’ engagement as they interact with Algebra Nation, developing real-time computational models of engagement, and integrating the models into Algebra Nation to trigger adaptive interventions aimed at increasing engagement and learning.

Sidney D’Mello
Sidney.DMello@Colorado.EDU

Study Edge

Study Edge, a Gainesville-based educational technology company, first partnered with the Lastinger Center to create Algebra Nation, a free online learning platform that has increased student mastery in Algebra 1. Study Edge is now partnering with the VLL team as they test, modify and create a more effective learning environment for students.

Michael Wear Lucho Hristov
Project Manager Senior Programmer
mike@studyedge.com lucho@studyedge.com

 

Interested in becoming a partner? The VLL has funds to support joint investigations into precision education. Contact Project Director Carole Beal for additional information.

 

Post Doctorates

Clint P. George, Ph.D. Joseph Grafsgaard, Ph.D.
Informatics Institute of Cognitive Science
University of Florida University of Colorado at Boulder
clintpg@ufl.edu joseph.grafsgaard@gmail.com

Supporting Staff

Leela Kumaran Linda Miley
Project Coordinator Post-award Support
lkumaran@coe.ufl.edu lmiley@coe.ufl.edu

UF Graduate Students

Duygu “Dee” Cetin-Berber Brittany Eichler Sahba Niaki
Education Education Statistics
dcetinberber@ufl.edu bee1989@ufl.edu sahbaakn@ufl.edu

Communications Team

Stephanie Cugini Janae Muchmore Brett Pizzi
Communications & Marketing Manager Communications Assistant Communications Assistant
scugini@coe.ufl.edu jmuchmore@ufl.edu brettjpizzi@ufl.edu